Update #3: New Roof Fundraiser

water-damage-ceiling

Water damage on the ceiling in one of our bedrooms

New Roof Fundraiser GoFundMe link: https://www.gofundme.com/help-wes-amp-his-family-get-a-new-roof

We are also accepting contributions via PayPal. My PayPal email is wesremal@yahoo.com

Update #3:

Happy New Year! I can’t thank everyone who has donated enough. I write this in every update because we never imagined we would receive so much support. Thank you all!

I’m waiting to hear back from one more roofing company, but we’ve received an estimate of $6,000 from a company we are considering hiring. This is the price we anticipated, but we have not yet fully raised the $6,000. We’ve raised more than we expected through GoFundMe and PayPal, but we are now in the final stretch and need a bit more to reach this goal.

As I’ve been saying, we will greatly, greatly appreciate anything anyone can give. If we get a few more donations we could very well afford this expensive repair, which would allow me to focus on writing and making content as a thank-you to everyone supporting us.

For the past week, progress has been stalled in getting companies out to our home to give us an estimate. This is mostly due to an infected tooth that has been causing me a great deal of pain. Thanks to antibiotics, the worst of the pain is past me so I can now focus on the roof, get to the dentist, and of course, write.

If possible, we would like to avoid getting a loan or payment plan to afford the rest of the repair. It would be incredible if we could raise enough funds to afford a new roof altogether, so again, anything you can give is welcomed.

I’ll post a new update as soon as we move forward. I hope everyone had a great holiday season. Much love. 🙂

Wes & Family


Update #2:

Thank you again to everyone who has donated and supported us in replacing our roof. We are halfway to our goal on GoFundMe, and I am continuing to call roofing companies for an estimate on the cost of replacing it.

The past couple bids we’ve received are higher than we would prefer – one was around $7,500 and another was around $8,500 – but we’ve received one cheaper estimate that is more in our price range.

The companies giving us the higher bids want to do more than the basic roof replacement. Besides some costly improvements they want to make, they are factoring in the price of replacing some of the wooden beams in our ceiling that have taken water damage.

I am still calling around in hopes of getting a more affordable bid; I’ll post another update as soon as we decide which roofers to go with.

My plan was to have the job done this month (December). But depending on whether we get an affordable estimate from a reputable company in the next couple weeks, as well as the amount of funds we raise in that time, I may need to extend the fundraiser into next year.

I think we will soon have enough to replace the roof, which is something I never thought I would be able to do anytime soon. It is amazing beyond belief that so many people have helped us, whether by donating or sending love and kind words.

We’re not quite there yet, and anything will help. To everyone who has donated and anyone who potentially will: you are teaching me what it means to be kind and compassionate. Thank you again. =)

We are accepting contributions via GoFundMe (link above) and PayPal (my PayPal email is wesremal@yahoo.com) The first update, along with the original post and photos of our damaged roof, is below.


Update #1:

Thank you so much to everyone who has donated to our new roof fund and sent us positive comments. With the donations made to our Go Fund Me and the donations sent via PayPal, we are closer to our goal than I would’ve ever thought possible.

I’m currently calling around, having a few more companies come look at the roof and give an estimate of what it will cost to replace. One roofer said while looking at it that it has taken a great deal of hail damage, which has caused the nails to loosen and water to get in.

This is why our ceiling has taken water damage, as you can see in two of the pictures below. Showing me up-close pictures of the asphalt shingles, he made it clear that hail has significantly damaged the roof. This confirms that it needs replaced ASAP.

I don’t yet have the pictures he took, but I will update this (and the Go Fund Me) as soon as he sends them to me. I have two other companies coming by in the next few days to look at it and give me an estimate, so for now we are unsure what the final cost will be.

As I mentioned, we are closer to the amount we think we’ll need. But we’re not out of the woods yet. I cannot express my appreciation enough to everyone who has donated, and apart from the contributions made via Go Fund Me – for which I have not yet thanked all the donors – I am trying to thank each of you individually.

If we can continue to get contributions, then I’m confident that we’ll have enough for this frighteningly expensive repair. As I wrote in my original post, we will greatly appreciate anything you can give. If you enjoy my writings and want to help support the blog, then right now this is the best way to do so.

I shared the Go Fund Me link at the top of this post, but here it is again: https://www.gofundme.com/help-wes-amp-his-family-get-a-new-roof

We are also accepting contributions via PayPal. My PayPal email is wesremal@yahoo.com.

Words are insufficient to express how much I appreciate everyone who has donated in our time of need. So many amazing, compassionate readers have helped us either by donating or sending love and support. Because of you, we are inching closer to our goal. Thank you all again, and much love. =)

Wes & family

I’ll post another update for the roof fund in the next few days – likely after Thanksgiving as it will be a busy time for everyone. The original post, along with photos of our damaged roof, is below.


For anyone who can help – our roof is badly damaged and in need of replacement. It is sagging in some areas, and in some rooms of the house, the ceiling has visible water damage.

One roofing company estimated that it will cost at least $5,000 to fix, but it could cost more if the roofers discover more damage.

Here are some pictures of the damaged, sagging areas of the roof as well as two photo of water damage in the ceiling in two of our rooms.

IMG_0168

IMG_0170

IMG_0175

IMG_0180

RoofCoverPhoto

We currently have no money for repairs, and so I’ve set up a Go Fund Me page with a goal of $6,000. We need to raise the money for this ASAP, as the damage is getting worse. We hope to replace the roof this winter.

If you enjoy my writings and want to help ensure I can continue to write, please donate to the emergency fund we are raising via Go Fund Me. You can also donate via PayPal (my PayPal email is wesremal@yahoo.com).

This is our last chance to raise money for the new roof we desperately need, and we will greatly appreciate anything you can give.

We would also appreciate if you can share our Go Fund Me page on your social media. The more people who share it, the more who will see it and the more who can potentially help.

Thank you all, and much love.

Wes Annac & family 🙂

22814005_1726539067358290_1408218506716395856_n

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.